Tuesday, August 20News That Matters

NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament

The NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament, also known and branded as NCAA March Madness, is a single-elimination tournament played each spring at the USA, now featuring 64 college basketball teams in the Division I level of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA), to ascertain the national championship. The tournament has been the Notion of Ohio State coach Harold Olsen, and Was Made in 1939 from the National Association of Basketball Coaches. [1] Played mostly during March, it has become one of the most famous sporting events in the United States. [citation ]
The tournament teams comprise winners out of 32 Division I conferences (that get automatic bids), and 36 teams that are awarded at-large berths. These”at-large” teams have been chosen by an NCAA selection committee, then declared in a nationally televised event on the Sunday preceding the”First Four” play-in games, currently held in Dayton, Ohio, and dubbed Choice Sunday. The 68 teams are divided into four regions and organized to some single-elimination”bracket”, which pre-determines, when a team wins a game, which team it will face . Each group is”seeded”, or ranked, within its region from 1 to 16. In sites across the United States, the championship happens during the course of three weekends, Following the First Four. Teams, seeded by position, proceed through a single-game elimination bracket starting with a”first four” consisting of 8 low-seeded teams playing in 4 matches for a position in the initial round the Tuesday and Wednesday prior to the first round starts, a primary round consisting of 64 teams playing 32 games over the span of a week, the”Sweet Sixteen” and”Elite Eight” rounds another week and weekend, respectively, and — to the final weekend of the championship — that the”Final Four” round. The Final Four is played during the first weekend of April. These four teams, one from every area (East, South, Midwest, and West), compete at a preselected place for the national championship.
The championship has been at least partially televised since 1969. [2] Currently, the games are aired by CBS, TBS, TNT, and truTV beneath the trade-name NCAA March Madness. Since 2011, all games can be found for viewing nationwide and globally. As television coverage has grown, so also has the tournament’s popularity. Currently, millions of Americans fill out a bracket,[3] trying to correctly predict the results of 63 games of the championship (not including the First Four games).
With 11 titles, UCLA has the listing for the many NCAA Men’s Division I Basketball Championships; John Wooden coached UCLA to 10 of its 11 names. The University of Kentucky (UK) is next, with eight national titles. The University of North Carolina is third, with six titles, and Indiana University and Duke University are tied for fourth with five titles. The University of Connecticut is sixth with four national titles. The University of Kansas (KU) & Villanova are tied for 7th with three national titles. Since 1985, when the tournament expanded to 64 teams, Duke has won five championships; North Carolina and UConn have each won four; Kentucky & Villanova have three; Kansas & Florida have two; and Arizona, Arkansas, Indiana, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Louisville[a], Syracuse, UCLA, UNLV, and Virginia have one.

Read more: montanayouthrugby.org

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *